Diatonis - The Convolving Universe (DVD-Video)

0 ratings
This is an DVD-Video ISO image file of The Convolving Universe by Diatonis. 

Video Format: NTSC (720x480)
Audio Formats: Stereo PCM & DTS 5.1 Surround

Four of the songs contain video, while the others display a photo.

Listen to the entire album for free:

Watch Aurora:

Watch Lunar Dream:

Watch Corona:

This album was an experiment recorded in early 1999 using SAW Pro (digital audio editor). The album was release as a CD-r in 2000 and then finally on CD in 2003. The videos where done sometime in 2006. 

More Info:

Song List:

1. Elements of Light
2. Lunar Dream (video)
3. Corona Restitution
4. Perhelion
5. Daath (video)
6. Aphelion
7. Aurora (video)
8. Corona (video)
9. Ninth Emanation
10. Cepheid
11. Typhonian XI°
12. Heaven

The album was created using a process called Convolution, which is a digital signal processing algorithm where the spectral information from one sound (the impulse) is multiplied together with spectral information of another sound (the sound source). Both the impulse and the source sounds can be minutes long and produce some of the most interesting sounds imaginable. I started by playing a simple 4 to 8 note phrase using single and multi-voiced choir samples. I then recorded the resulting phrase into another sampling keyboard and then played it one would a normal piano. I only could play a few notes in each octave or it would start to sound very chaotic. I then convolved these resulting loops with a variety of other sounds (impulses), and finally mixed these to create the songs. I also used a vocoder in many of the tracks as well as samples of my own voice.

This album was really just an experiment. At the time I was using a Emu Emax II which had a convolution module in it. You could convolve a single piano sample with a string sample. It took forever to render a single sound.

Sometime in 1998 I created a convolution plugin (based on what Angelo Farina's convolution plugin) for SAWPlus (a digital audio workstation). It took forever and crashed all the time, but it allowed me to convolve using long impluse files. Some songs took over 16 tracks where one track would take anywhere from 1 to 3 days to render. I never thought I would put it on an album.

The convolution process creates some pretty heavy overtones that made it very difficult to control the sound. This was on of the most difficult albums to master. On the other hand, I delighted at the random element and textures it produced.

This album has NOTHING to do with UFOs, the Illuminati, or the Lizard people. The names where taken by randomly searching a number of books, as where most of the song titles for my albums. They are used to identify the song and are meaninless.

Recorded in 1999 released in 2003
I want this!
1.8 GB

Diatonis - The Convolving Universe (DVD-Video)

0 ratings
I want this!